State Committees and Project Chairs

To volunteer to work on these committees, please contact the appropriate chairperson.

Awards

Deb Saylor
deblsaylor@aol.com

Budget

Reviews and prepares an annual budget for IA Reading

Michelle Swanson
mswanson@w-sioux.k12.ia.us

Bylaws Policies & Procedures

Reviews the IA Reading Bylaws to determine if they are meeting current and future needs of the organization.

Julie Schuller
jschuller@thegenerals.org

Creative Writing – Short Story Contest

Determines the winners of the Young Writers' contest and presents the awards at the IA Reading Spring Conference.

Kari Straube
kstraube@nfv.k12.ia.us

Creative Writing – Poetry Contest

Determines the winners of the Young Poets' contest and presents the awards at the IA Reading Spring Conference.

Marlene Reece
reecedennismarlene966@gmail.com

Iowa Merit Council

Renae Wilkening
Council Bluffs, IA 51503
renaewilkening@cox.net

Long Range Planning

Facilitates visioning and long range planning for IA Reading.

Deb Mortensen
dndmort@evertek.net

Diane Bean
drbean1975@gmail.com

Membership

Promotes membership for local, state, and national IRA.

Diane Bean
drbean1975@gmail.com

Nominating

Solicits candidates for open offices on the Board of Directors.

2017-2019 Iowa Reading Association Nomination Form

Nancy White
nwhite@indytel.com

Program

Session planning for state reading conference.

Erick Schroyer | Eldora, IA 50628
eschroyer@southhardin.org

Kelsey Nilles | Steamboat Rock, IA 50701
knilles@southhardin.org

Student Membership

Distributes information to recruit college students to become members of IA Reading and IRA.

All Board Members

(Contact any Zone Director for information on pre-service teacher memberships.)

International Project

Carol Deuhr

Technology And Literacy Project
"Grow a Local Council" Grant

Nancy Wright
RITE729@msn.com

 

Publications

Deb Mortensen
dndmort@evertek.net