Iowa Reading Association -Service Award 2022

Posted: June 22, 2022

Deb Saylor is the Iowa Reading Association Service Award recipient. She is a retired
teacher and instructional coach from Van Meter Community School District. Deb has
served the Iowa Reading Board of Directors on various committees, and was the 2005
Iowa Reading Teacher of the Year. She currently serves as the Awards Committee Chair.
As the Awards Chair, Deb has reminded local reading councils of the importance of

recognition for our literacy leaders in the state of Iowa. She has been a long-time mem-
ber of the Dallas County Reading Council serving in many offices of the council. In

recent years, she has been part of the Boone-Story Reading Council. Although recently retired, books, authors
and Iowa Reading remain close to her heart. Deb was the first recipient of the “Karla Bronzynski Memorial
Scholarship”, created in memory of a friend and mentor for many in the Iowa Reading Association.

News Featured Image